Download Wallet!Get the latest version of Ethereum Mist Wallet Here!

Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Mining Performance Review

Ledger Wallet protects your bitcoins

 

The Nvidia line of high-end gaming GPU’s recently got an upgrade. As expected, their newest model – the Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti hit the shelves March 10th at the price of $699 USD. It was well-received in the mining community and the mining performance test results look promising as well.

The GTX 1080 Ti is one of the few top-tier Nvidia GPU models that have GDDR5X memory instead of the more common GDDR5. The GDDR5X standard supports 10Gbit/s data rates, which is reflected on how the miner performs with memory-intensive algorithms.

Recommended Hardware for 6x GTX 1050 Ti Mining Rig

Power Consumption

As specs state, the GPU power consumption limit is 250W on non-synthetic operations. The Founders Edition allows users to increase that limit by 20%. This means that the power consumption can be pushed up to 300W, but some additional cooling should be necessary too.

The GPU can be underclocked. There are no solid data about underclocking possibilities just yet, but experienced users stated that the GTX 1080 Ti has some potential.

Note: As for today, March 2017, only the Founders Edition will be available. The non-reference design will be on sale starting in April.

Cooling

The GTX 1080 Ti comes with only one cooler. While there were no complaints about cooling yet, it is recommended to manually lock the fan speeds to 100% to prevent thermal throttling.

To receive the latest updates follow me on social media! 🙂
facebook
twitter
google
youtube

Performance

Due to the GPU structure and memory clock of 11 GHz, the GTX 1080 Ti does not perform equally on all algorithms. For instance, according to some tests, the GPU would not work with BMW and Cryptonight at default intensity, and would only start working after the intensity (along with the hashrate) would be manually lowered.

Other algorithms like Jackpot, Quark and Wildkeccak don’t work with the GPU at all, which might be, or might be not a temporary issue. Those tests were performed using the latest ccMiner fork release as for March 14th.

Profitability

According to the first tests, the GPU performs the best with the NiceHash EQM miner with an average hashrate of 620 H/s for ZEC. This results in profits of about 2.20 USD a day, giving the GPU a ROI of 10 months. The miner only works on NiceHash pools though, so that’s a detail to keep in mind.

Experts were also surprised by how poorly the GTX 1080 Ti performed with the Lyra2rev2 algorithm, outputting only 48.5 MH/s using the ccminer. However, this might be fixed with future driver updates in a week or two.

Finally, the GTX 1080 Ti was also tested using the Claymore’s Ethereum miner on stock GPU settings. The results were stable, with a hashrate of 31.8 MH/s. The new EWBF CUDA miner also worked surprisingly well with the card, allowing it to output 625 H/s.

Before to continue further, please share this 🙂 thanks!

Price Change Predictions

As it usually happens, Nvidia will more likely review and lower the price of the GTX 1080 and the GTX 1080 Founders Edition once the GTX 1080 Ti comes out in April. However, it is very probably that the price of the GTX 1070 won’t be affected.

According to Nvidia news, there will be at least one additional GTX 1080 model variation that will hit the shelves soon, which will feature 11 Gbps instead of the 10 Gbps we have. There will be also a new release of the GTX 1060 which will have 9 Gbps instead of the existing 8 Gbps.

These new releases might be particularly interesting for those of you who want to mine coins like ETH and ZEC that are based on memory-intensive algorithms.

Amazon price list
GTX 1080ti Series 28-32 Mh/sGeForce GTX 1080 Ti PricePrice Tracker Alert
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC 11GB
MSI GTX 1080 TI GAMING X 11GB
MSI GTX 1080 TI ARMOR 11GB
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080TI GAMING 11GB

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition TV Tuners & Video Capture GV-N108TD5X-B, Gigabyte

Price: $2,799.00
as of January 18, 2018 7:51 am  
Buy Now
Amazon.com
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price $2,799.00 January 18, 2018
Highest Price $2,799.00 December 6, 2017
Lowest Price $948.99 July 27, 2017
Since July 24, 2017

Last price changes

$2,799.00 December 6, 2017
$1,799.00 September 25, 2017
$1,499.99 September 23, 2017
$1,399.00 September 8, 2017
$1,299.99 August 23, 2017

ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 TI 11GB GDDR5X Founders Edition VR Ready 5K HD Gaming HDMI DisplayPort PCIe Graphics Card Graphic Cards GTX1080TI-FE, ASUS Computer International Direct

 
Buy Now
Amazon.com
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price - January 18, 2018
Highest Price $3,603.26 January 11, 2018
Lowest Price $699.00 August 10, 2017
Since July 24, 2017

Last price changes

$3,603.26 January 11, 2018
$3,563.50 January 10, 2018
$3,561.58 January 9, 2018
$3,550.75 January 9, 2018
$3,547.58 January 8, 2018

EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FOUNDERS EDITION GAMING 11GB GDDR5X LED DX12 OSD Support (PXOC) Graphic Cards 11G-P4-6390-KR, EVGA

Price: $2,399.98
as of January 18, 2018 7:51 am  
Buy Now
Amazon.com
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price $2,399.98 January 18, 2018
Highest Price $5,399.98 December 1, 2017
Lowest Price $842.99 August 20, 2017
Since July 24, 2017

Last price changes

$2,399.98 December 14, 2017
$5,399.98 December 13, 2017
$849.00 December 12, 2017
$5,399.98 December 1, 2017
$2,399.98 November 26, 2017

MSI GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition Graphic Cards GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition, MSI COMPUTER

Price: $2,999.89
as of January 18, 2018 7:51 am  
Buy Now
Amazon.com
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price $2,999.89 January 18, 2018
Highest Price $2,999.89 January 10, 2018
Lowest Price $759.00 August 7, 2017
Since July 24, 2017

Last price changes

$2,999.89 January 10, 2018
$1,999.89 January 3, 2018
$1,099.99 December 26, 2017
$1,199.99 December 23, 2017
$1,299.99 December 19, 2017
Specs
  • * Graphics Processing Clusters: 6
  • * Single precision CUDA Cores: 3584
  • * Streaming Multiprocessors: 28
  • * ROP Units: 88
  • * Base/Boost Clock: 1480 MHz/ 1582 MHz
  • * Memory Clock: 5505 MHz with 11 Gbps data rate
  • * L2 Cache Size: 2816K
  • * Total Video Memory: 11264MB GDDR5X
  • * Memory Interface: 352-bit
  • * Total Memory Bandwidth: 484 GB/s
  • * Connectors: 1 x HDMI, 3 x DisplayPort
  • * Form Factor: Dual Slot
  • * Power Connectors: One 8-pin, one 6-pin
  • * TDP: 250 Watts
  • * Recommended Power Supply: 600 Watts
join my weekly subscription & get exclusive tips.
Subscribe
In conclusion

Thanks to the solid amount of CUDA cores, the new GTX 1080 Ti has the potential to become the new favorite GPU for ETH and ZEC mining. The CPU is new and the drivers that are available today might be pretty raw. According to some opinions, the GTX 1080 Ti has some great potential, especially if new driver releases will help to overcome the conflicts the miner experiences with some of the mining algorithms.

What do you think about the new GTX 1080 ti?

Thank you for reading. As always, your comments, suggestions and questions are welcome.

Subscribe and stay tuned for further updates!

Found this useful? Buy me a beer 🙂

ETH: 0x8a159cc27454130ee4880504f4d2afe2ebb22d15

BTC: 3DWC5xaaapSRmccAvv12dF3nsRYqx3Y1YM

ZEC: t1T9dLLM14Jh6NNuCPfNsRgGnj58LkT3yYX

  • David VanHouse

    Lyra2REv2 hahing is ~ 70 MH/sec now with mild OC, ~67 MH/sec on stock now

    • thank you!

      • Douglas Mast

        I’m hitting 77 on average with almost 6000 memory clock. Using nicehash

        • Piotr Kowalski

          i have 1080Ti, using nice hash And apples display my earnings 2.80 USD / day unless the card never returns 🙁

    • surz

      what miner do u use? i use ccminer and just get 58MH/s..thanks!

    • On which coin? Thanks

    • Piotr Kowalski

      Hey, I have a gtx 1080Ti. Can you write me how to configure to have 60-70 MH / S? I’m looking for a few days and I can not do it 🙁

  • akashefi12

    1080s are too expensive but how about the 1070s bro? Heard you can get these hitting 31 mh/s with ether and found them for $400/ card which is good right now since there are no cards.

    • Yeah 1070 is good 🙂

    • Acácio Da Rosa Florentino

      In my case I’m able to get only 28.76 MHs. Do note that it’s the EVGA 08g-p4-5173, therefore I expected a much better performance… and this hashrate isn’t even on stock (I did overclock on memory, underclock on core and lowered by 65% the TDP)!!

    • Sabun

      I’m using a Palit GTX 1070 Dual Fan 8GB card, and I get 31 MH/s with Claymore miner right now. When I’m using my computer whilst mining, it drops to 29-30MH/s. It’s pretty good, but the temps reach 70 degress celsius.
      To note, I overclocked the memory using MSI Afterburner to 4475MHz.

  • Jorge De León Rivas

    Hi! thank you for the review.

    So, do you think is a good idea to use Nvidia 1080 instead some Ati 580?

    Thanks for the answer

    • i will go with 1070 instead..

      • Jorge De León Rivas

        I’ve been reading for use 1070. It’s about 400h/s un zcash.

        But don’t know wich manufacturer buy…

      • Mohamed Kaki

        in this case gtx 1070 it’s the best

  • Adil Dzhalilov

    Which brand to get? and how 11000MHz 1080Ti compares to 5500MHz 1080 ti? More frequency equal to more MH/s?

    • Alexander Deltrus Leimbeck

      5500MHz 1080 Ti is 11000MHz, you need to double it. That’s how memory clocks work. You may also see people talk about memory at like 1400MHz, multiply that by 8 and that’s another way to see the clock.

  • Rahul Kadyan

    I have no electricity cost, which gpu should I buy for my rig?

    • rx 580 8gb 🙂

      • This Me

        I wish. Their cost is too high. I’m waiting for the next batch of cards to arrive to drive the cost down. Fingers crossed.

    • Mike Smith

      Hi,

      How do you mine bitcoins without any electricity cost ?

      • Rahul Kadyan

        We have solar panel installed on our office, so its basically free!

        • This Me

          I have $0 power cost too. I built a 4 GPU rig and it’s running strong. About to upgrade to 6 GPU.

          EVGA GTX 1070.

          • Acácio Da Rosa Florentino

            I don’t think it’s a good idea to install solar panels just to avoid the electricity bills… at least not here in Brazil (and Brazil is in fact one of the countries with the highest electricity rates in the world!). Well, at least here it costs $10000+ to have solar panels for just 1 freaking kWh!! I would have my ROI in probably over 5 years!!

  • Gabriel Omaña

    Hello Ciprian,

    Have you analyzed the GTX 1070?

    Anyone know how much HS / S generates in Ethereum? WIndows ?, ethOS? Best settings? Power Consumptions?

    Thanks in advance

  • teo

    Which GTx 1080 TI cards give better performance in mining, Founders Edition or OC Gaming?

    • oc gaming i guess..

      • teo

        That too I suppose, but I’m not sure because all the hashrate I’ve seen are for gtx 1080 TI Founders Edition

  • Azouz Ahmed

    i have 2

    GeForce GTX 1080 ti 11GB ducke combien de zcach ou eth

  • أحمد عبدالله

    how could this card be the new favorite GPU for ETH
    and obtain 4.5 rating in mining
    while it only yields 32 mh/s ??
    the low price AMD RX 570 yields 29.5 mh/s after proper OC
    with only 1/3 of the price od the GTX1080TI

    • Athos Rache

      This review is outdated.
      People are not talking about it so they can buy more cards.
      It’s doing 65 to 73 ETH.
      Vega and 1080 ti are beasts.

  • Alexander Deltrus Leimbeck

    Howdy folks! I know this is outdated info, so wanted to give some info from what I can tell of my own.

    I average 800 H/s for ZCash (ZEC) with the EWBF miner, with my 1080 Ti. I opted for the FTW3 Hybrid from eVGA as this wasn’t initially supposed to be for mining, but I use K Boost in the eVGA Precision XOC program, so my GPU always runs at my overclocked settings of 2050MHz on the core and over 12.4GHz on the memory. Since it’s the hybrid variant, my temperatures never go above 50 Celsius, and that’s with the two fans just going at a calm 50%, though that’s my own forced setting. Usually the fans would never go on because the card just doesn’t get heat. Yay liquid AIOs on GPUs!

    • Edgar Dimas

      hello, could you tell me how many Mhs on Claymore miner mining eth.?

join my weekly subscription & get exclusive tips.
Subscribe

Subscribe To My Newsletter For
Latets Tutorials & Updates! Thanks!

Be a part of our subscription and stay updated with the latest trends.
Subscribe Me!
No Thanks!
close-link
 

Looking to Build a Mining Rig ?

Why not buy a ready made one?
READ MORE HERE
close-link

Send this to a friend